Eric Nopanen 8e0EHPUx3Mo Unsplash

New Music Monday – 19 February 2024

As we kick off Trimester 1 Orientation for 2024, here’s the newest music being added to TuneFM this week! We’ve got hits from artists such as Beyoncé, Alfie Templeman, Pearl Jam, and Cosmo’s Midnight. 

Song: Texas Hold ‘Em

Artist: Beyonce

Beyonce has delighted fans with the surprise release of her new single “Texas hold ‘em”, which comes with both instrumental and acapella versions. The country-infused track is a lively dance anthem, encouraging listeners to dance and have a good time.

“It’s a real-life boogie and a real-life hoedown. Don’t be a b*tch, come take it to the floor now. And I’ll be damned if I cannot dance with you.”

Although it was Usher who preformed at the Super Bowls halftime show, Beyonce has dominated the streams on iTunes after the game. She unveiled two singles during the Super Bowl, and announced her upcoming album, ACT II, which drops on March 29th.

Song: Fantasy

Artist: Cosmo’s Midnight, Franc Moody

Cosmo’s Midnight have collaborated with Franc Moody on their newest track, ‘Fantasy’. They say the collaboration came along naturally, calling it a “feverish dreamlike funk jam.”

“We set about throwing the FM kitchen sink at it…vocal stacks, squitty synths, and all sorts of general funk apparatus. When we were happy we sent it back for them to sculpt into the record you hear today. Lots of love to Pat and Cosmo for having us onboard for this one!” – Franc Moody

Head over to our Spotify to give this track a listen and get lost in this funk filled tune.

Song: Dark Matter

Artist: Pearl Jam

Rock legends Pearl Jam have announced their upcoming 12th studio album, ‘Dark Matter’, will be released on April 19th. To build excitement, the band have given us an early sneak peek of the album by releasing a song of the same name.

Lead vocalist Eddie Vedder says the band cares about the music they’re putting out, saying he believes this album is their “best work”.

You can catch Pearl Jam on their world tour, starting on May 4th. This iconic tour will hit 25 cities across 9 countries, with the final show blowing the roof off the Sydney showground stadium on the 21st of November.

Song: Motivation

Artist: Jebediah

Jebediah have dropped their newest track ‘Motivation’, the second song released as a teaser for their upcoming album ‘Oiks’. The album is due to be released on the 12th of April and will be their first album in over a decade.

 “We can’t wait for everyone to hear OIKS soon. It was a labour of love that took us five years to complete, often during extremely turbulent times.”

This upbeat single is also accompanied by a new music video, filmed in Melbourne. “The video clip is intended to represent the simplicity of the song and the fact that we were trying to capture the raw sound of the band playing in a room together.”

Song: Eyes Wide Shut

Artist: Alfie Templeman

Alfie Templeman has released his newest single ‘Eyes Wide Shut’, using the song to express his feelings about burnout while touring.

“My brain always seems to be on full volume after a show and I find it really difficult to wind down… Eyes Wide Shut helped me express those feelings and since we started playing it live I often use it as a reminder to go easy on myself. It deters the burn out.”

Templeman is currently working on his next album, a follow up to his debut released in 2022. ‘Eyes wide shut’ was the first song written for this new album, which is said to have a ‘big, weird pop’ vibe.

Our New music playlist this week also features hits from Delta Goodrem, Holly Humberstone, Chromeo, Fay Wildhagen, Griffin, and Dent May.

Keep up to date with the latest music here at TuneFM by following our New Music Monday playlist on Spotify. Updated every Monday <3