Daniel Schludi MbGxz7pt0jM Unsplash

New Music Monday – 8 April 2024

There’s some great songs on our New Music Monday playlist this week! Featuring songs from artists such as Empire of the Sun, Glass Animals, Mia Wray, Imagine Dragons, Ava Max, and so many more.

Song: Eyes Closed

Artist: Imagine Dragons

Imagine Dragons is back with a brand new single, Eyes Closed. With the band’s familiar sound, Eyes Closed follows on from the 2023 single Children of the Sky, and is accompanied by a brand new music video featuring frontman Dan Reynolds as he declares “I could do this with my eyes closed.”

Reynolds says about the song:

“The world looks much different after being a band for more than a decade, but some things will always remain the same. It’s finding that right balance of nostalgia and freshness that brings me the most joy in the studio. We had a lot of fun making this one and hope you enjoy it too.”

Song: What If

Artist: Mia Wray

Australian pop sensation Mia Wray’s latest hit is an anthem for all those who know what it’s like to be terrified of having feelings for someone. Mia’s lyrics constantly ask ‘what if?’ as she imagine what it might be like if those feelings were reciprocated. The single released with a music video, featuring shots of the singer amongst flowers, and a montage of couples and individuals in a photo booth, showcasing the emotional vulnerability of loving someone.’

Song: My Oh My

Artist: Ava Max

Ava Max’s latest single, which she has been teasing over the past few months, has finally hit the airwaves. My Oh My  incorporates the Arabian riff – a well-known melody from the 19th century – which has also been utilised by artists like Ashnikko, Limp Bizkit, and Miike Snow in Genghis Khan. My Oh My debuted at number 22 on iTunes Worldwide, making it Ava Max’s third highest solo.

Song: Changes

Artist: Empire of the Sun

Australian electronic icons Empire of the Sun have made an ecstatic return after eight years with their new single Changes. The new single dropped with an accompanying music video directed by Michael Maxxis, which sees Steele and Littlemore emerging from a spacecraft. Having previously hinted in 2021 at more albums in the pipeline, Changes’ music video ending with an ominous ‘to be continued…’ could hint at more music from the duo in the future.

Littlemore invites everyone to:

“Come once more into the world we’ve created, delve deeper within and be rewarded with its ever expanding story, each and every one is invited to explore the new era.”

Song: Creatures in Heaven

Artist: Glass Animals

Ahead of their new album I Love You So F****** Much, English indie rock band Glass Animals have dropped their single Creatures in Heaven. Their upcoming album is set to drop July 19th, and will be the band’s fourth studio album so far, following on from their 2020 hit, Dreamland. Frontman Dave Bayley has described the songs on this album (including Creatures in Heaven) as ‘love songs.’

“They look at all the twisted shapes and forms of love, good and bad. They were born out of a large existential crisis. So maybe it is fair to call them ‘existential love songs.’ I tried to work my way out of this existential crisis, and that resulted in some writing. That writing ended up being the backbone to this album.”

In addition, our New Music Monday playlist also features songs from Luke Hemmings, DICE, Cody Jon, Benson Boone, and David Guetta and OneRepublic.

Find them all below!

Keep up to date with the latest music here at TuneFM by following our New Music Monday playlist on Spotify. Updated every Monday <3

Photo by Daniel Schludi on Unsplash